# Webflow vs Shopify for website builders

Webflow and Shopify are closely matched for core workflows. Both support API access, templates, custom code, blogging, and ecommerce. Webflow has confirmed free plan. Shopify has confirmed free trial, starting price of £19, and ai website builder.

## Key decision points

- Webflow has confirmed free plan; free plan is not yet confirmed for Shopify.
- Shopify has confirmed free trial; free trial is not yet confirmed for Webflow.
- Shopify has confirmed starting price of £19; starting price is not yet confirmed for Webflow.
- Shopify has confirmed ai website builder; ai website builder is not yet confirmed for Webflow.

## Choose Webflow if…

- Choose Webflow if confirmed free plan matters to you; this detail is not yet confirmed for Shopify.

## Choose Shopify if…

- Choose Shopify if confirmed free trial matters to you; this detail is not yet confirmed for Webflow.
- Choose Shopify if confirmed starting price of £19 matters to you; this detail is not yet confirmed for Webflow.
- Choose Shopify if confirmed ai website builder matters to you; this detail is not yet confirmed for Webflow.

## Features

| Feature | Webflow | Shopify |
| --- | --- | --- |
| AI website builder | Not confirmed | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/)) |
| Drag-and-drop editor | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/)) | Not confirmed |
| Templates | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/)) |
| Responsive design | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/)) | Not confirmed |
| Custom code | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) |
| CMS | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/)) | Not confirmed |
| Blogging | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) |
| Ecommerce | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/apps)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/)) |
| Memberships | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/apps)) | Not confirmed |
| SEO tools | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) |
| Custom domains | Not confirmed | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) |
| Free domain | Not confirmed | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) |
| Forms | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/apps)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://apps.shopify.com/)) |
| Analytics | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) |
| Client management | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/)) | Not confirmed |

## Capacity

| Feature | Webflow | Shopify |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Digital products | Not confirmed | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://apps.shopify.com/)) |
| Multilingual sites | Not confirmed | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) |
| Bandwidth | Not confirmed | 0 (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) |
| Team members | Not confirmed | 5 (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) |

## Integrations

| Feature | Webflow | Shopify |
| --- | --- | --- |
| App marketplace | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/apps)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/)) |

## Technical

| Feature | Webflow | Shopify |
| --- | --- | --- |
| API | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) |

## Pricing

| Feature | Webflow | Shopify |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Free plan | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/)) | Not confirmed |
| Free trial | Not confirmed | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) |
| Starting price | Not confirmed | £19 (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) |

## Commercial

| Feature | Webflow | Shopify |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Affiliate programme | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://webflow.com/apps)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/)) |
| Affiliate commission | Not confirmed | Not specified (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/)) |

## Evidence

- **Shopify — AI website builder:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/. Evidence: “Design fast with AI.”
- **Webflow — Drag-and-drop editor:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/. Evidence: “Equip marketers with drag-and-drop templates”
- **Webflow — Templates:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/. Evidence: “Equip marketers with drag-and-drop templates”
- **Shopify — Templates:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/. Evidence: “Pick a prebuilt theme.”
- **Webflow — Responsive design:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/. Evidence: “Tailor interactions to breakpoints.”
- **Webflow — Custom code:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/. Evidence: “Extend Webflow with code when you need it Platform Code Components”
- **Shopify — Custom code:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Build custom apps using Shopify APIs”
- **Webflow — CMS:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/. Evidence: “Platform CMS Publish content without a developer Explore CMS”
- **Webflow — Blogging:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/. Evidence: “Blog”
- **Shopify — Blogging:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “embed buy buttons on an external website or blog”
- **Webflow — Ecommerce:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/apps. Evidence: “Product Designer CMS Ecommerce Interactions Memberships Editor Logic SEO Hosting Security Marketplace Overview Libraries Apps”
- **Shopify — Ecommerce:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/. Evidence: “The world’s best commerce platform.”
- **Shopify — Digital products:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://apps.shopify.com/. Evidence: “Shopify Digital Products”
- **Webflow — Memberships:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/apps. Evidence: “Product Designer CMS Ecommerce Interactions Memberships Editor Logic SEO Hosting Security Marketplace Overview Libraries Apps”
- **Shopify — Multilingual sites:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Translate your storefront”
- **Webflow — SEO tools:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/. Evidence: “Optimize SEO AEO new”
- **Shopify — SEO tools:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “automate marketing and SEO”
- **Shopify — Custom domains:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Custom domain name”
- **Shopify — Free domain:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Every Shopify store also comes with a free myshopify.com address”
- **Shopify — Bandwidth:** 0. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “unlimited bandwidth (no bandwidth fees)”
- **Webflow — Forms:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/apps. Evidence: “Categories For you Recommended Categories All AI Analytics Asset Management Automation Compliance Content Management Customer Support Data Sync Design Development and Coding Ecommerce Enterprise Forms and Surveys Localization Marketing MCP + Agents Webflow Optimize Scheduling SEO User Management Utilities”
- **Shopify — Forms:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://apps.shopify.com/. Evidence: “Shopify Forms”
- **Webflow — Analytics:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/. Evidence: “Prove ROI with native analytics Explore Analyze”
- **Shopify — Analytics:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “200+ real-time reports, plus custom analytics”
- **Webflow — App marketplace:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/apps. Evidence: “Supercharge your site with Apps Connect powerful tools to your Webflow site”
- **Shopify — App marketplace:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/. Evidence: “Shopify App Store”
- **Shopify — Team members:** 5. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Up to 5 staff accounts”
- **Webflow — Client management:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/. Evidence: “Delegate billing to clients directly from Webflow Docs Client Billing”
- **Webflow — API:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/. Evidence: “connecting APIs, custom logic, and real-time data without managing separate infrastructure.”
- **Shopify — API:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Build custom apps using Shopify APIs”
- **Webflow — Free plan:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/. Evidence: “Start for free”
- **Shopify — Free trial:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Try 3 days free, then £1/month for 3 months.”
- **Shopify — Starting price:** £19. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Basic £19 /mo”
- **Webflow — Affiliate programme:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://webflow.com/apps. Evidence: “Become an Affiliate”
- **Shopify — Affiliate programme:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/. Evidence: “Affiliates”
- **Shopify — Affiliate commission:** Not specified. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/. Evidence: “Affiliates”
