# Shopify vs Jimdo for website builders

Shopify and Jimdo are closely matched for core workflows. Both offer a trial; both support ai website builder, custom code, ecommerce, and digital products. Shopify has confirmed starting price of £19, API access, and templates. Jimdo has confirmed free plan.

## Key decision points

- Jimdo has confirmed free plan; free plan is not yet confirmed for Shopify.
- Shopify has confirmed starting price of £19; starting price is not yet confirmed for Jimdo.
- Shopify has confirmed API access; API access is not yet confirmed for Jimdo.
- Shopify has confirmed templates; templates is not yet confirmed for Jimdo.

## Choose Shopify if…

- Choose Shopify if confirmed starting price of £19 matters to you; this detail is not yet confirmed for Jimdo.
- Choose Shopify if confirmed API access matters to you; this detail is not yet confirmed for Jimdo.
- Choose Shopify if confirmed templates matters to you; this detail is not yet confirmed for Jimdo.

## Choose Jimdo if…

- Choose Jimdo if confirmed free plan matters to you; this detail is not yet confirmed for Shopify.

## Features

| Feature | Shopify | Jimdo |
| --- | --- | --- |
| AI website builder | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/)) |
| Templates | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/)) | Not confirmed |
| Custom code | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/pricing/website/)) |
| CMS | Not confirmed | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/)) |
| Blogging | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) | Not confirmed |
| Ecommerce | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/get-booked/)) |
| Booking | Not confirmed | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/get-booked/)) |
| SEO tools | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/)) |
| Custom domains | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/pricing/website/)) |
| Free domain | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/)) |
| Forms | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://apps.shopify.com/)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/get-booked/)) |
| Analytics | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/addon/sell-facebook-instagram/)) |
| Client management | Not confirmed | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/)) |
| White labelling | Not confirmed | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/)) |

## Capacity

| Feature | Shopify | Jimdo |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Digital products | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://apps.shopify.com/)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/get-booked/)) |
| Multilingual sites | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/)) |
| Storage | Not confirmed | 0 (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/)) |
| Bandwidth | 0 (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) | 0 (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/)) |
| Team members | 5 (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) | 0 (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/)) |

## Integrations

| Feature | Shopify | Jimdo |
| --- | --- | --- |
| App marketplace | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/)) | Not confirmed |

## Technical

| Feature | Shopify | Jimdo |
| --- | --- | --- |
| API | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) | Not confirmed |

## Pricing

| Feature | Shopify | Jimdo |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Free plan | Not confirmed | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/)) |
| Free trial | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.jimdo.com/)) |
| Starting price | £19 (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/pricing)) | Not confirmed |

## Commercial

| Feature | Shopify | Jimdo |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Affiliate programme | Yes (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/)) | Not confirmed |
| Affiliate commission | Not specified (verified 5 September 2026; [source](https://www.shopify.com/)) | Not confirmed |

## Evidence

- **Shopify — AI website builder:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/. Evidence: “Design fast with AI.”
- **Jimdo — AI website builder:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/. Evidence: “Build your website with Jimdo's AI: structure, copy, images, calls to action — tailored to your business”
- **Shopify — Templates:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/. Evidence: “Pick a prebuilt theme.”
- **Shopify — Custom code:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Build custom apps using Shopify APIs”
- **Jimdo — Custom code:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/pricing/website/. Evidence: “Want to customize your website with code? Try our Creator editor Creator's coding features give you the freedom to customize websites for specific needs.”
- **Jimdo — CMS:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/. Evidence: “Website Our Website Builder Create a website”
- **Shopify — Blogging:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “embed buy buttons on an external website or blog”
- **Shopify — Ecommerce:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/. Evidence: “The world’s best commerce platform.”
- **Jimdo — Ecommerce:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/get-booked/. Evidence: “Online Shop Set up an online shop in minutes.”
- **Shopify — Digital products:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://apps.shopify.com/. Evidence: “Shopify Digital Products”
- **Jimdo — Digital products:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/get-booked/. Evidence: “Physical and digital products — with images, descriptions, prices, and variants.”
- **Jimdo — Booking:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/get-booked/. Evidence: “Booking tool Get booked — even on a Sunday at 11pm.”
- **Shopify — Multilingual sites:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Translate your storefront”
- **Jimdo — Multilingual sites:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/. Evidence: “English Deutsch Español Français Italiano 日本語 Nederlands”
- **Shopify — SEO tools:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “automate marketing and SEO”
- **Jimdo — SEO tools:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/. Evidence: “SEO-optimised content — structured for AI assistants”
- **Shopify — Custom domains:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Custom domain name”
- **Jimdo — Custom domains:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/pricing/website/. Evidence: “Sure! With our premium plans, it's easy to transfer your existing domain to Jimdo, or keep your domain where it is and simply connect it to your Jimdo website.”
- **Shopify — Free domain:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Every Shopify store also comes with a free myshopify.com address”
- **Jimdo — Free domain:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/. Evidence: “Your own domain”
- **Jimdo — Storage:** 0. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/. Evidence: “No credit card. Free forever.”
- **Shopify — Bandwidth:** 0. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “unlimited bandwidth (no bandwidth fees)”
- **Jimdo — Bandwidth:** 0. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/. Evidence: “No credit card. Free forever.”
- **Shopify — Forms:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://apps.shopify.com/. Evidence: “Shopify Forms”
- **Jimdo — Forms:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/get-booked/. Evidence: “Smart Forms Enquiries that matter for your business.”
- **Shopify — Analytics:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “200+ real-time reports, plus custom analytics”
- **Jimdo — Analytics:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/addon/sell-facebook-instagram/. Evidence: “start tracking your Facebook ads in Google Analytics. Connect Google Analytics to your website”
- **Shopify — App marketplace:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/. Evidence: “Shopify App Store”
- **Shopify — Team members:** 5. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Up to 5 staff accounts”
- **Jimdo — Team members:** 0. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/. Evidence: “No credit card. Free forever.”
- **Jimdo — Client management:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/. Evidence: “One customer database connecting leads, bookings, orders, and payments”
- **Jimdo — White labelling:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/. Evidence: “Made in Germany since 2007.”
- **Shopify — API:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Build custom apps using Shopify APIs”
- **Jimdo — Free plan:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/. Evidence: “No credit card. Free forever.”
- **Shopify — Free trial:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Try 3 days free, then £1/month for 3 months.”
- **Jimdo — Free trial:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.jimdo.com/. Evidence: “Try it free”
- **Shopify — Starting price:** £19. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/pricing. Evidence: “Basic £19 /mo”
- **Shopify — Affiliate programme:** Yes. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/. Evidence: “Affiliates”
- **Shopify — Affiliate commission:** Not specified. Last verified 5 September 2026. Source: https://www.shopify.com/. Evidence: “Affiliates”
